Birchbark Books Reading Series

The Birchbark Books Reading continues Wednesday, May 10 at 7:00 pm. Reading will be Nora Murphy, Choua Yang, Taiyon Coleman, and Ron P. Leith.

Curated by Michael Kiesow Moore and Ardie Medina, the Birchbark Books Reading Series features new, emerging, and established writers quarterly September through May.

Nora Murphy, author of White Birch, Red Hawthorn: A Memoir, is a fifth-generation Irish Minnesotan. She was born and lives in Imniża Ska, the white cliffs overlooking the confluence of the Mississippi and Minnesota Rivers in St. Paul. She has worked and volunteered in the Native community since 1995 and has published five previous books—children’s histories, short stories, and a memoir about women’s textiles, Knitting the Threads of Time.

Choua Yang is an aspiring writer who grew up in Saint Paul’s east side. After twenty years in the IT field, he went back to school to finish a long-awaited bachelor degree in English Literature just so he can get asked the question, “What are you going to do with that?” Choua enjoys photography, filmmaking, and most of all, exploring nature with his two children. His poem “Refugee: 1984” was published in the Saint Paul Almanac.

Taiyon J Coleman is a poet, essayist, teacher, and a Cave Canem fellow. Her writing has appeared in Bum Rush the Page: A Def Poetry Jam, Riding Shotgun: Women Writing about Their Mothers, The Ringing Ear: Black Poets Lean South; Blues Vision: African American Writing from Minnesota; her thought-provoking essays have appeared in numerous publications, including A Good Time for the Truth. She recently served as a panelist on MPR’s Friday Roundtables and is a 2017 recipient of a McKnight Foundation Artist Fellowship in creative prose.  She graduated from the U of MNs MFA Creative Writing Program and holds a PhD in English Literature and Culture with a minor in African American and African Diaspora Studies. Taiyon is Assistant Professor of English Literature at St. Catherine University in St. Paul, Minnesota.

Ronald P. Leith is the author of Poems from the Deep: A Man’s Journey through Heaven and Hell, and The Parable of Wood & Stone: Personal Notes form a Native Man’s Existential Journey. Ron credits his attending Red Lake High School in the 1960’s as a beneficial experience for him, allowing him to become re-acquainted with his Ojibwe-Anishinabe family and to develop a true sense of being a member of a truly great nation. Originally writing in Haiku format, Ron says his writing evolved through personal experience, vision and revision, trial and error, adopting and adapting many variations of style, format and structure. He believes in a critical approach to writing and acknowledges that a writer’s source may at times be elusive and difficult to put down and believes that breaking ground with your own version of poetic phrase is a liberating experience and at times a more truthful version of life’s interpretations; that being true to yourself is the key to authenticity and originality.

Birchbark Books is located at 2115 West 21st Street, Minneapolis, MN 55405. (612) 374-4023

Previous readers on the series:

Carol Allis
James D. Autio
Cole Bauer
Brian Baumgart
b: william bearhart
James Bettendorf
Kris Bigalk
Jill Breckenridge
Annie Breitenbucher
Wendy Brown-Báez
Todd Boss
Lucille Broderson
Jay Thomas Badheart Bull
Colleen Casey
Sharon Chmielarz
Cristopher Gibson
James Cihlar
Paula Cisewski
Naomi Cohn
Donte Collins
Carol Connolly
Mark Conway
Lyle Daggett
Lightsey Darst
Delaney Deer
Norita Dittberner-Jax
Mary Moore Easter
Heid E. Erdrich
Patricia Van Ert
Venessa Fuentes
Margot Fortunato Galt
Larry Gavin
Pamela Gemin
Linda LeGarde Grover
Margaret Hasse
Sandy White Hawk
Tom Hennen
Kate Lynn Hibbard
Carolyn Holbrook
Eric Hove
Al Hunter
Ann Iverson
Diane Jarvenpa
Satish P. Jayaraj
Andrea Jenkins
Emily Johnson
Prudence Johnson
Deborah Keenan
Athena Kildegaard
Scott King
Patricia Kirkpatrick
Kathryn Kysar
Denise K. Lajimodiere
Ed Bok Lee
Sherry Quan Lee
May Lee-Yang
James Lenfestey
Roseann Lloyd
Denise Low
Raymond Luczak
Freya Manfred
Gayla Marty
Leslie Matton-Flynn
Matt Mauch
Ken McCullough
Linda Back McKay
Eric McKendry
Ethna McKiernan
John Medeiros
Ardie Buckholtz Medina
Anna George Meek
Carter Meland
Nick Metcalf
Leslie Adrienne Miller
John Minceski
Cheryl K. Minnema
Jim Moore
Aundria Sheppard Morgan
Alison Morse
Ilze Klavina Mueller
Lewis Mundt
José Luis Naranjo
Roslyn Nelson
Jude Nutter
Elizabeth Oness
Joe Paddock
Nancy Paddock
G.E. Patterson
Kasey Payette
Bao Phi
Matt Rasmussen
William Reichard
Lynette Reini-Grandell
Marcie Rendon
Mary François Rockcastle
Sun Yung Shin
Julia Klatt Singer
Su Smallen
Thomas R. Smith
Christine Stark
Joyce Sutphen
Sharon Suzuki-Martinez
Suzanne Swanson
Denise Sweet
Dara Syrkin
Francine Marie Tolf
Katrina Vandenberg
Nancy Walden
Bob Walser
Michael Walsh
Cary Waterman
Greg Watson
Kathleen Weihe
Tammy Darrah Wenberg
Gwen Westerman
Clarence White
Stephen Wilbers
Sherrie Fernandez-Williams
Morgan Grayce Willow
Elisabeth Workman
Bryan Thao Worra
Timothy Young
Maryam Marne Zafar
Nolan Zavoral